Boys' 800 Meter Run:
Ian Hurlburt 1:54.17
(Mt. SAC Relays 2018)
Girls record page       Track & Field Front Page     Boys record page


Based on his sub 1:56 time as a junior I was pretty sure that Ian Hurlburt would break Erik Armes' record as a senior.

In 2018 he was perfect against San Diego Competition, winning all nine of his local races. Ian's strategy is to stay with the pack and kick at the end, so his best races were against better competition.


Ian first broke Erik's record at Arcadia Invite on April 7th while running in the open heat. He placed first with a time of 1:55.15. That performance got him into the Invite heat at the Mt. SAC Relays on April 21st, where he faced some of the best competition in the state. At that meet, he knocked nearly a second off his previous best with a time of 1:54.17.

At the CIF Prelims and Finals, he again, ran fast enough to best all local competition to advance to the state meet for the second year in a row.

Because he won the CIF Finals with the top time overall, Ian is on the 2018 CIF First Team for Track and Field.

Ian's Track Profile

Ian's Cross Country Profile


Previous record holder
Erik Armes 1:55.22
(Escondido High School 2015)

It took 41 years for someone to break Dan Sweeney's 800 meter record set back in 1974 but Erik Armes cracked it at the Bronco Invitational on 14 March 2015.

Erik at Bronco
Photo by Gabriel Sanchez during the 1st lap of the 2015 Bronco Invite 800 meter run

Erik also holds the school record for the 1600 (including the mile and 1500 meter marks)
and the 3200 meter run.


Previous Record Holder:
Dan Sweeney
(Vista High School 1974)

Sweeney.jpg (18316 bytes)

Dan Sweeney's 1974 mark of 1:55.5c on Vista's dirt track would be right up there with the best in the county any year.  The mark was originally set at the slightly longer half-mile distance (880 yards) in 1:56.2 and later converted to the 800 meter equivalent of 1:55.5c.





Ian and CharlieClose on the heels of Erick Armes' record and just behind the 1974 record of Dan Sweeny is Ian Hurlburt (left runner in the photo). Ian ran 1:55.86 at the 2017 CIF finals to qualify for the state meet. In that race Charlie Winn was right behind him (right runner in the photo) with a time of 1:56.53. That time put Ian 3rd all-time for the Islanders behind Erik Armes and Dan Sweeney. Charlie's time ranked him 5th all-time behind Warren Racine (below).

Previous Record Holder:
Warren Racine
1:56.9 for 880 yards in 1970 in the CIF finals at Balboa Stadium.
Converted to 800 meters his time would be 1:56.13.

Racine also ran the anchor DMR leg in 4:20 or faster for the 1969 record in that event.

Previous Record Holder:
Collin Guilmette 2:04.9 for 880 yards in 1942
The record above was taken from a list of school records prepared by Sunday Durland in 1955. There appear to be gaps in the records from 1955 to 1994 so if anyone has information on records set during this period
please contact me here.
-George Green, head track coach.